Hubbell, Dejear win state races, Ag Secretary goes to convention

Fred Hubbell is the winner of the Democrat nomination for governor of Iowa.  Hubbell earned a little more than 55-percent of the vote as he defeated the four challengers who remained in the race all the way to election day.  Union leader Cathy Glasson finished second with more than 20-percent and John Norris got just over 11-percent.  Hubbell will now face Republican governor Kim Reynolds in November.  

Deidre DeJear is the Democrat nominee for Iowa Secretary of State.  She narrowly defeated Jim Mowrer in tuesday's primary with a final margin of victory that was a little more than two points. Mowrer tweeted just before midnight that he called DeJear to concede.  She faces Republican Secretary of State Paul Pate in November.  

The Republican nomination for Iowa Agriculture Secretary will be decided by a convention.  Current Ag Secretary Mike Naig won the most votes Tuesday, but came just short of winning the contest outright.  Naig got 34.74 percent of the vote, just shy of the 35 percent needed to take the entire race.  Naig won most of the counties in Iowa, but he lost much of southwest Iowa to Ray Gaesser.