Statehouse primary ballot set

The field of candiates is set for Iowa Statehouse races before the June 5th primary election. Candidates had to file nominating petitions before a 5:00 p.m. deadline on Friday.  In Senate District 23, incumbent Ames Democrat Herman Quirmbach is on the ballot, along with Libertarian Eric Cooper.  In House District 45 incumbent Ames Democrat Beth Wessel-Kroeschell is seeking another term.  Republican Ben Brown, an ISU graduate student is also on the ballot.  As it stands now, in House District 46 incumbnt Ames Democrat Lisa Heddens is the only candidate. In House District 49, incumbent Nevada Republican Dave Deyoe is seeking another term.  Democrat Brenda Brink, and Libertarian John Evans, both from Huxley are on the ballot.  The political parties without candidates in the field can make nominations at their respective conventions this summer.