Ames School Board candidates field set

The field is set for next month's Ames School Board election. Three newcomers and an incumbent are running for three seats on the Sept. 12 ballot.  First-time candidates Monic Behnken, Jamet Colton, and Gina Perez all got the necessary petiton signatures to appear on the ballot. Tim Rasmussen is the lone incumbent after fellow board members Bill Talbot and Mike Espeset chose not to seek new terms. Roy Cakerice, who served on the board from 2003 to 2010, had initially filed the paperwork to appear on the ballot but withdrew his name. Voters will also decide whether to renew the district's Physical Plant and Equipment Levy another 10 years. It was first approved in 1997 and renewed in 2007.


Content Goes Here