Number of Iowa Counties Turning Down COVID-19 Vaccine Allotment Doubles


IOWA - Forty-three Iowa counties are declining their allotment of COVID-19 vaccines this week.

KCRG-TV reports the number is more than double the number of counties turning down doses last week.

The state says the counties are following procedure to decline vaccines when there's low demand so they can be sent to areas with higher demand.

KCRG reports some of the counties have vaccine hesitant populations, and that most counties turning down doses are in northwest Iowa.

The state is conducting information sessions to lay out facts of COVID-19 vaccines.

KCRG reports these counties have declined their vaccine allotments for April 19th: Adams, Allamakee, Appanoose, Audubon, Buena Vista, Butler, Carroll, Cass, Cedar, Cerro Gordo, Chickasaw, Clay, Clayton, Crawford, Des Moines, Dickinson, Emmet, Fayette, Floyd, Franklin, Fremont, Hamilton, Hancock, Hardin, Humboldt, Ida, Jackson, Jefferson, Keokuk, Kossuth, Louisa, Lyon, O’Brien, Palo Alto, Sac, Sioux, Taylor, Union, Van Buren, Wapello, Webster, Winnebago and Woodbury.

Twenty-one counties declining vaccines in the previous week were Adair, Cass, Clay, Crawford, Davis, Decatur, Floyd, Franklin, Hancock, Humboldt, Jackson, Jefferson, Keokuk, Kossuth, Lyon, Osceola, Sac, Union, Webster, Winnebago and Woodbury.

Sponsored Content

Sponsored Content