Iowa Senate elects new leadership

Republicans in the Iowa Senate Wednesday filled a leadership gap caused by this week's resgnation of one of their top members.  Former Senate President Jack Whitver of Ankeny was elected majority leader.  Charles Schneider from West Des Moines will replace Whitver as president.  The elections happened behind closed doors in the capital building, as 28 members of the GOP caucus looked for a replacement for former Shell Rock senator Bill Dix, who stepped down Monday after video surfaced of him kissing a female statehouse lobbyist in a Des Moines bar earlier this month.  Governor Reynolds is expected in the coming days to set a special election date to fill the District 25 seat left vacant with Dix's resignation.